Euro nymphing

Welcome Forums Learning The Art Euro nymphing

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Mark
    Participant

Not sure if this is best place for this post, so please let me know if it would be better elsewhere. While I am not a “new fly-fisher”, I am relatively new to Vancouver island fly fishing. After doing a lot of fishing in the far north and getting “dialed in” so to speak, I was used to associating fishing with actual catching of fish. I now find myself feeling like a newbie in these new waters, and could use some wise local expert advice. The question relates to approximately 15 hrs of fishing with no catching over the last couple of days. I had time on my hands so spent some hours driving and testing local rivers. I decided to stay south or in Comox so went to Little Q, Big Q, Englishman’s, and Puntledge. Englishman’s was running high and dirty so not really fishable (plus regs on upper sections indicated to me that it was closed). Little Q was frustrating since access to anything except near the hatchery was hard to find and regs to me indicated that most of that was closed. Walked some stretches that looked fishy but could not make heads or tails of the regs, so will wait to fish that with someone who knows it better. Big Q was lovely above the hatchery and commenced to put many drifts with euro nymph rig with no luck. Lovely river and lovely walk but no fish. Drove back to Courtenay and fished the Puntledge from Condensary up to hatchery over 4-6 hours. Water was cold but drifts were good and tried weighted and unweighted Prince nymphs, Hare’s ear, Muddlers, bead head crystal buggers, egg sucking leaches and others in multiple sizes. Nada. Zip. Nothing. Was like I was fishing a sterile river, and I also did not see any evidence of fish. From a technical standpoint I was using a 10ft 3weight with Mono rig and sighter down to a 5x fluro tippet. I varied between ticking bottom and drifting through the feeding zone above bottom